Uh.... was my site hacked?

I looked at Google Search Console today and I seem to have almost 20,000 more pages crawled on my site that I didn’t create and are not in my CMS. All of these new pages have these long Chinese slugs and lead to a 404. Wondering if anyone else has experienced this. My site is completely hosted on Webflow.

Hey Kevin,

Rest assured that this doesn’t necessarily indicate that your site was hacked. The fact that the requested URLs are returning 404’s indicates that the pages do not exist on your site.

While i’m by no means an SEO Expert, my understanding is that this just means that a random site somewhere has created these random links to your site on one of their own pages, which Google has then crawled. But it doesn’t necessarily harm your site :male_detective:

This is a fairly common occurrence (especially on high-traffic sites), and Google have some great insight into this over on their Search Central Support hub:

Q: Most of my 404 errors are for bizarro URLs that never existed on my site. What’s up with that? Where did they come from?