An ECommerce-like Menu For A Non-ECommerce CMS Collection?

Hey everyone,

Please excuse any ignorance here - I’m new to Webflow, and no web designer, so sometimes I don’t even know how articulate what it is I want to! But, simply put, I’m trying to figure out if it’s possible to build [what I describe below] with Webflow (and with that, trying to figure out whether I should pull the trigger on paying for Webflow/building this project with it).

I have a collection of digital products/links/items I’d like to organize much like you would physical products in a store, in the following format:

• A grid of products || If I’m not mistaken, this would be a CMS Collection displayed on a page as a Collection List
  • A sidebar with product Categories that, upon being clicked, will filter the CMS items being displayed on the page || From what I can tell, it seems like I would do this by having a CMS Collection of product Categories/Attributes, and display them somehow using tabs(?)
  • Nested categories that show only when the parent category/attribute is selected, and similarly filter the products/CMS list. For example, if this were clothing, and someone selected “Footwear”, that category would extend to reveal “Boots”, “Sneakers”, “Flip-Flops”, etc.

So, a general Yes or No question: is it possible to build this using CMS collections and tabs, or something else for that matter?

A slightly more detailed question: I notice that you can’t have a hierarchy within a CMS collection, so would child categories related to a parent (like “Boots”, “Flip-Flops” nested under “Shoes”, to use the above example) have to be in a separate CMS Collection?

An even more detailed question, at the risk of getting ahead of myself: if it is possible to do all of the above, would it be possible to have users save items from the CMS list somehow, into a kind of bookmark section, in place of a cart (to continue the ECommerce-but-not-ECommerce analogy)?

Thanks in advance for any help/insight!