Work Around 10,000 CMS Items Limit

Maybe I’m jumping into the deep end with Webflow (also my first topic in the Webflowrum). But while Collection building blocks seem (impressively) straightforward and robust, I will quickly run up against even the Business Plan’s 10,000 items limit. My theatre example:

• 250 shows
  • 20 performances each (will need to make their way to a calendar)
  • 20 characters each (reference one of 500 artists)

Boom, 10,000+ items. Is there a craftier way for me to get around this? :pleading_face:

Thanks,
Tim

P.S. I assume fields replacing Collections would be the first (only?) next step. However, performances, characters, etc. can also exceed fields and references limits (40 and 10?).

5 Likes

@Zeke8990 I will say you are correct. 10,000 recs is nothing. I’ve been working as a developer for many years an 10k is nothing. used to millions of recs. Now I have focused more on the web and WF. You need to build a good dB design and I can’t se how to keep the numbers down except deleting old shows.

Sigh, that is what I’m afraid of. I have been leading the hype train for Webflow on my team, but rough start …

Any update? I´m interested too in a workaround for this issue.

+1 on this. Up to 9700 items and haven’t even started generating user accounts yet via Memberstack

2 Likes

+1

I am using WF as a member site and after the soft launch I am hitting 2K members.

Thinking of horizontally scaling clones of the member section.

Or just have the option to expand the #records.

1 Like

I need this more than I need water

8 Likes

That’s not na easy workaround, but the only solution I found is to integrate webflow with external database and stop using collections like a DB. I guess webflow thought, that collections will be rather used as a blogpost DB, or product feed or similar :smiley:

Does anyone know if using Airtable as a database (connected using Zapier) would solve this problem?