What happens with Sites after Subscription cancel?

Hey!

I just wonder if i have 5 sites in my workspace and i cancel subscription, do these sites stay and once i would become a paying member again i can return to these sites or would 3 be deleted? Could i even cancel while having more sites than the free plan allows?

Kind regards