Sortable CMS ordering with javascript/Need Dev

To start out fully honest, my javascript skills are weak. I am a designer stepping into dev and need a developer for this idea.

I have played around enough to figure out that using Jquery Sortable and some embed code can allow me to display a cms collection and drag the order around.

Now it seems to me that it might be possible to have a page inside of a WF site that is password protected giving access to this “cms ordering page” to a client.

The part I can’t figure out how to do is how to use the Webflow api to update a “order” field in the cms.

Hosting a custom custom JS file seperate from the WF site is not a problem. So it seems to me all the parts are there but I need a dev to get this figured out.

Anyone up for the challenge?

Hi,

I can help.

You can reach me on Skype: cisin.justin or Email: justin@cisinlabs.com so that we can discuss this further.

Justin
+14074139057

Hi,
I am an experienced developer and this is something well within my area of expertise…
You can reach me on andrewjohnson56782@gmail.com
Best Wishes,
Andrew

Wondering if you ever got this sorted out? If so could you provide some information on who you worked with an maybe an example of the completed solution. Thank you in advance!

Hey Dan,

I’m not the OP but I have two possible solutions for editor-level list re-ordering.

SOLUTION 1 - Manual sortkey with editor-level support

Here’s a discussion of some of the challenges I found, and the approach I took in solving this for some LMS projects that required explicit lesson-ordering;

Basic approach was, create a text field in the CMS, make it min & max 3 chars, and then store a sortable numeric string like 002 981 or 368. As a number it’s easy to sort, with no localization issues. As string, it can be edited directly in editor mode.