Looking for Information, Documentation, and Roadmap on Webflow Architecture

Hi Everyone,

I am very new to Webflow, and I was hoping to get some information and documentation on how Webflow’s architecture is designed. I have a couple of goals in mind as I primarily deal with large and enterprise customers, and my first step before jumping in head-first is to get some feedback and knowledge transfer on where to start looking.

1. Can I extend the CMS and create my own custom Widgets and Modules?
  2. Can Webflow be used in a decoupled manner with other systems?
  3. Is it possible to integrate and build connectors from other solutions?
  4. Does Webflow follow MACH principles? (Microservice, API-first, Cloud, Headless)
  5. Is there a roadmap listed anywhere?

Any help here would be amazing,
Have a great one,
Stephen

Okay, we can scratch question 5 as I found the roadmap which is called “Wishlist”. I still would love a timeline overview feature roadmap, but I definitely see the benefit here.

Regarding the wishlist: There is an update and some kind of roadmap for 2021.

To your questions:

1. I think it is not possible to enhance the CMS since Webflow is a low-code platform. If you need features, the Wishlist is your best bet (but prepare to wait years at the moment). Maybe there will be a plugin system in the future …

2. and 3. There is an API, but I don‘t know if it fits your needs. Also, you can add custom code in the designer to do all kind of JavaScript stuff.

1. This question is better answered by staff, but with the API it should be possible to run Webflow in some kind of headless fashion.

And to my knowledge, Webflow uses AWS under the hood and scales automatically.

Thanks for this very thorough answer @crstn. This is the information I was looking for.

1. It would make me extremely excited if we could extend the platform, even if we have to do it through a middleware environment! :smiley: