How to optimise for Google Pagespeed Insights

First of all, I’m no pro at this, I just figured some stuff out myself and thought I’d share it with the community.

Getting a high ‘speed’ score in google pagespeed insights is relevant for SEO purposes (you’ll have a higher chance of ranking higher in google because google favors fast websites)

The following helped me to get a higher score in Google pagespeed Insights:

• Make sure all images on your site are as small as possible (while still remaining of good quality if you don’t want your site to look like crap. I use https://compressor.io/ to quickly compress my images for web use.

• Clean up unused interactions (when I found this out my score went from 55 to 75 on desktop)

• Set no default URL. Doing so will redirect the visitor too many times, google doesn’t like that apparently.

• Minimize the amount of javascript on the page

• Clean up unused CSS styles.

Doing all of the above almost always helps me to get a desktop score of around 90.

Like I said, I’m no expert so if anyone has anything to add please do so!

2 Likes

Good notes for folks who may be having issues with their site speed score, thanks for sharing.

I typically find that most issues with site speed revolve around large file sizes (images, videos, scripts, etc) being loaded immediately, so waiting to load these things until they’re in view or after a user interaction can do wonders.

Clean up unused interactions (when I found this out my score went from 55 to 75 on desktop)

As a note, there’s also a “Clean Up” function for CSS (shown in the same place but within the styles tab) that’s worth mentioning as well. I’ll save this step until right before launch as sometimes you’re working on styles or interactions that aren’t actively attached to anything and they’ll be removed with this action.

Set no default URL. Doing so will redirect the visitor too many times, google doesn’t like that apparently.