Design from scratch or use templates?

Hi guys. I’m new to web design and have a quick question or more topic of discussion. This is not specific to webflow as such.

I have my first meeting and potential gig tomorrow for a restaurant. I called my cousin who owns a successful media marketing business for the last 30 years or so. I needed a little advice on pricing and how to structure the meeting. I was shocked to find that they mostly use wordpress templates for their work and fine-tune them for finished web design. He told me to do the same and look at webfow templates to use.

There’s some nice templates there. However, it feels like cheating and I wouldn’t be learning and improving every time I build from scratch. Not to mention the sense of achievement I get, and nothing quite like starting with a completely blank canvas to get creative, and, try to bring something unique and special. Does anyone else get this?

Just wanted to get other’s views on this? He’s maybe lost his passion and more money-driven. Although I need money to keep going with this career, and need it fast. But I hope that will come as I constantly improve with my own work and imagination.

Any thoughts or views on this would be amazing.

Gareth.

Here is my site Read-Only: LINK
(how to share your site Read-Only link)

@Gareth_Ellison this is a little bit of a touchy subject. It’s okay for beginner designers to use templates, but the caveat is that you shouldn’t use them to avoid doing any creative work. If you are using templates, then you should be tweaking and fully customizing them and at the same time, learning from them (visual hierarchy, colors, typography etc… ).