Customer asking for a "If I die" policy?

Howdy! I recently had a client tell me that their one big question is what happens if I die (or if I decide web design isn’t for me and close my Webflow account)? How will they be able to keep the site I make them? It was a question I had not anticipated. I could contractually agree to transfer the site to an account they create in the scenario that I decide I don’t want to use Webflow anymore (which wont happen), but I’m not sure I know what to tell them in the scenario that I die.

The only thing I can think of is leaving detailed instructions for my wife to transfer the site to them in that event, but that seems a bit… personal.

Has anyone had experience with this sort of thing? Is this a common question and I’m just a noob?

Thanks!

4 Likes

I use a clause in my contracts that clearly states that the client has the right to take the website from me in the event that I disappear or become permanently unreachable. I’ll post an example below.
I’m pretty sure if the client was to send a valid signed contract to Webflow, and the client was persistent enough, Webflow would then transfer the website to the client. If the client can show they paid in full and that the contractor did not transfer them the site. However, I’m not 100% sure if there is a standard policy for this.

2 Likes

Here’s a sample clause you could use, however please note that this is not official legal advice, always check & review with a law professional if possible.

Contractor’s Help Securing Ownership: