Can I create a cms grid that pulls from multiple collections?

Hello, everyone. I am building a site for an architect. I’ve made 4 cms collections, 1 for each category of building (residential, commercial, etc.). This will enable me to organize the galleries easily, but it poses one problem.

I want to have a small cms grid on the homepage that shows the most current projects the architect has completed, and I want this cms grid to pull from all 4 collections.

Is that possible, or am I better off combining all of the projects into one collection and then somehow make each gallery (residential, commercial, etc.) pull only the projects with that category field, and so on?

I’m still learning how to use the cms, so I apologize for the noob question. And thank you so much for your help.

There is no link b/c it’s literally just the hero section at this point.

Here is my public share link: LINK
(how to access public share link)

When data is shaped similarly, it should probably be in the same collection.
A better approach is;

• Projects - contains all projects
  • Category - lists your 4 categories

The Project then has a single-ref to the category.

This lets you have category pages listing all projects, a mix of recent projects or featured projects across categories. It also lets you properly re-use your collection page for DRYer ( don’t-repeat-yourself ) design.

Hi, Christian,
have you ever tried Finsweet Attributes ?
As I’ve understood properly I think this tool will solve your challenge… :slight_smile:

regards marcin

Thank you both for your help.

Michael - that’s what I’m thinking, but I didn’t want to undo all the cms importing work I’ve done without knowing it was really the best move. I’m still gathering info.

Marcin - I have not. I’ve seen their nesting multiple collections solution but that’s not what I’m going for. I’ll check out this one b/c it sounds more relevant.

Again, thank you both for your help.