Best alternative (w CMS) to Webflow (no CMS) for this type of news site

I am creating a specialized news site. I just found it way too labor intensive to use Webflow for this kind of site. I’d like to be able to enter a news article in once and have it populate numerous pages based on tags. I understand this requires CMS which is somewhere in the Webflow development pipeline but just not here yet. I would welcome a recommendation for a site like Weblfow (ease of use by a novice) where I can create a site with the functionality I require. It’s been suggested I try Joomla, Wordpress or Drupal. I have no experience with any of these and would welcome this communities thoughts. Where do you turn when CMS is a must? Thank you.

BTW- Here is my start on such a site in Webflow before it dawned on me the work that would be required to keep all the pages populated and current.

1 Like

You could check out weebly (and maybe squarespace). I’ve used both of those before. I think weebly might do what you need.

I use Webflow to design all my site and then integrate the design into Modx.

David, have you used other CMS platforms? What makes Modx better than the others? I’ve tried a few before a few years ago (webpop being one) but gave up on it for some reason.

I haven’t tried many other CMS platforms, so I can’t say what is better about Modx. I can tell you why I like Modx. I like that the system can be as simple or as complex as you need it to be. In other words you can adjust Modx to fit your design rather then altering your design to fit the CMS. You literally input your Webflow code into a template and replace your reusable elements with costume placeholders and editable content with template variables.

Thank you very much David and Glen. I will check them out.