What's the thought behind Webflows CSS cascading from desktop to mobile?

I have a general question to the webflow devs.

How come you chose to implement the CSS so that it cascades “downwards” (i.e, desktop > tablet > mobile) and not the other way around?

I’m kinda new to webdesign but I’ve been taught from the start that Mobile First is the way to go when creating responsive websites since it is a lot easier to scale up and add content rather than the other way around and maybe remove content.

Not that I’m not happy with the product (it’s awesome!), I was just curios as to how you came to that decision :slight_smile:

1 Like

Not really.

“Mobile first” isn’t a rule or a good practice for such a large topic that “responsive” is. Mobile first is a decision you take to develop a product for mobile, first, because, for example, the market you reach is there rather than on desktop. It doesn’t mean I’m designing the mobile first and alter it for other devices and desktop. Usually when you go Mobile first, you don’t even develop the desktop at first.

In another hand, responsive means the design is going to adapt for devices.

That said, it’s ok to wish to reverse the cascading, it could be useful for a lot of projects.

In a perfect world, you don’t even go responsive, you develop, for every viewport, a specific design.

2 Likes

in a perfect world android has only 4 screen sizes:

:wink:

4 Likes

“So when you said Mobile First, which one of them were you talking about?”

1 Like

Haha, point taken @vlogic! :smile:

Thank you for the clarifications. Always interesting to get to know how others reason around this since there is obviously a lot to take into account when designing :wink:

1 Like