Using Custom Google Map with Color Styles from Snazzy Maps

Here’s my public: https://webflow.com/design/frostbyte?preview=20c21ccb1138fed056ef31e88fdf9600

What I’d like to do is add a coloured overlay over the map (it’s on the front page near the bottom, and again in the “Contact” page. I’ve tried putting a div block over top, or formatting the section, but the map is always “on top”??

Is this even possible, and if so, could someone help me out?

Thanks!

1 Like

For example - can I do something like this through Webflow?

I just don’t know how to edit js, etc. (I’m a total noob to this, but I’m a super fast learner!)

2 Likes

haha that was the map I was going to recommend :smile: Let me get this working quick and I will post the instructions, once I get it working :smile: And yes, you can always PM any of the Webflow staff :smile:

1 Like

Hi @ag3nt7 , here is the instructions for making a custom google map, using Snazzy maps styling, with an info window and custom map marker:

Step 1:

Create a section on your page and give it a unique id of “map” (without the quotes)
Give the new map section a height of 500px

Step 2:

Copy the following code to the HEAD of the Site Settings, this code will fix the google controls so they work on sites which are responsive and the controls won’t get all squished on the page.

<style>

#map img {  
    max-width: none;   
} 

</style>

Step 3:

Copy the following into the Before Body section of the Custom Code settings page. In the script link to Google maps,

replace the your_google_map_api_key value with your own API Key.

// The following line initializes Google Maps using your own Google Maps API key
// The google api script is required
// You need to include this script on any page that has a Google Map.
// When using Google Maps on your own site you MUST signup for your own API key at:
// Overview  |  Maps JavaScript API  |  Google Developers