Transfer domain to new template

Hi There,

I recently created a new website/template that I like a lot better and I want to transfer my domain to this new website - how do I do it?

Thanks,

Peter

Hello,

Right now your domain is pointing to a website right? You want the same domain to point to another site?

Piter

Yes I think so… I have my website that I created a while back, but I wasn’t happy with it so I started a new one with same template. Now Im happy with the desing and want to bring over my domain to the new one I created - Sorry im very new to this world so i thought this would be the best way for me to explain.

1 Like

No problem! Learning is for all of us :blush: From where is your domain? (godaddy, google domains ect.)

1. You need to add a hosting to your new website.

2. Go to your old site settings and click hosting > scroll to the custom domains section > remove the connected domain.

3. Go to the new website hosting settings > scroll to the custom domain section > add your domain

You probably need to update your domain DNS settings.

Tell me if there’s something I can help with.

Piter

Btw I’m thinking about an easier way. Can you share your old site URL and your new site URL?

Do you use a paid template?

Piter

Sorry for the delay. I just unpublished my old url.

I do have a paid template I am using.

When I go to the new design it asked me to pay for another hosting plan - Shouldn’t I just be able to transfer the URL over. Its the same template, just a different design.

1 Like

Hello @Peter_Kramm

It’s another project in your dashboard right? Webflow can’t transfer hosting plans. Each project has a separate hosting tab so for each project there’s a hosting option.

There’s a workaround. Webflow has a new feature called cross-site copy paste. You can copy everything from your new project and paste it in the old project (the old design) and you can publish the site with your new design.

If you have questions let me know.