Template pages vs static pages

@vincent Hi there, I’m new to Webflow and do not seem to grasp the connection between the collection template pages and regular static pages. I understand that each collection has a template page. Does one copy the content onto a static page. How is it linked in the menu? It’s hard to put all the pieces together. Help? Thank you.

https://preview.webflow.com/preview/apostolic-faith?utm_medium=preview_link&utm_source=dashboard&utm_content=apostolic-faith&preview=4aa27236b7608ec17f4a29aef646b210&mode=preview

Here is my site Read-Only: LINK
(how to share your site Read-Only link)

I think this might help you: Webflow 101 crash course | Webflow University

Collection Templates page serve only one goal: To display the content of a collection item, one at a time. In the CMS world it’s also called “a node”, as it’s the smallest object of a CMS database.

So when yo design a template page, you dont need to bind it to a collection, it’s bound to one by nature. you design for one item but you can swap to show another item.

Links to the collection template page

There is only ONE place where you can create a link that’s going to lead to a collection template page: a collection list, wether this collection list is in a static page, or wether it’s inside of a collection template page.

So you create a collection list soemwhere, place any form of link, and when you set the link, chose the CURRENT item link. That’s all you need to understand to get how this works.

So, basically, you have a home page, with a collection list containing some parts of your collection items (generally called a “teaser”, with title and text excerpt and a litle image" and each of the teasers have a link set to “Current…”, which leads to the collection template page for this item.

@vincent @Ozone Thank you for your thorough explanation. I think I am finally getting it! I was over complicating it. Thanks again.

1 Like