Solution for user specific download area… Suggestions?

Hey Webflowers! :slightly_smiling_face:

It happened! My customer asked me to implement a user specific download area into his website (done with Webflow). Now first off, I know I can’t wait for that feature to come around finally as a native Webflow solution.
So I consider two possibilities where I’d like to get some feedback first to evaluate before jumping into this cold water:

1. There was a YouTube video not long ago, where someone solved it with Firebase (?) I think. I’m no programmer, so it looked manageable but not so naturally fitting my skills.
  2. And then I assume, there are a few ready-to-go solutions as some kind of 3rd party cloud service. But there are just too many with too many features, while I only need the download area.

My questions:

• How would you address this request?
  • Do you have experience about one or the other?

I very much appreciate your input on this. Thank you. :pray:t2:
Tobi

1 Like

User logs in with his personal login and downloads files specifically intended for him.

1 Like

Hi @Tobi_Huber

Firebase - @jasondark produced these YT tutorials:

@mistercreate also showed possibilities with Knack:

@DuncanHamra recently showcased this new option:

And, maybe not quite user-specific like you need, but Webflow introduced this…which introduces the possibilities of some gated content via form success fields:

Hope those are useful!

6 Likes

To follow up from @StuM, here’s a newer Firebase + Webflow video series I made. See if that helps you at all.

Jason

7 Likes

Thanks for the update @jasondark :+1:

@Tobi_Huber Two solutions come to mind.

If you only have a handful of users, you might be able to get away with using Webflow native password protected pages. It’s an inexpensive solution that works just fine for many projects.

Your other option is something like AuthRamp (my partner and I created AuthRamp).