Creating template-based dynamic pages for clients

Hi. I am new to Webflow and have a few questions. Other CMS tools that I have worked with use a template model. Pages that are based on that template will have a set of tools and features that come with that template, and the styles that are associated with it.

Generally I will design a versatile page template that allows our clients to add a wide variety of content. This might include text, then images, then text, a pull-quote and a video, or maybe just an image gallery. Then I give the client access to the backend admin, and they can create and customize as many pages using this template as they like. They can also change a page to another template if they would like it to display differently.

On Webflow, if I want clients to be able to create pages on their own and have them automatically come with styles and features, should I use Collections to create them? Or is there another way to allow clients to create pages?

Hey Zappa,

Welcome to the community! It’s great to have you. Great questions by the way. I think it’s absolutely important to consider this for clients. Thankfully, Webflow provides some nice options to handle this.

First thing I will say is you have to consider what kind of content you’re working with. It’s it’s blog material, then using the CMS is a great option and makes sense. You can design a templated page and let the clients update and create new pages via the CMS. This is great if any new content will reuse the same layout and just need to swap out the content (images & text content).