Can Someone Please Explain when to use a Div Block

I am kind of new to Webflow and CSS design in general. I have watched videos on Div Blocks and still can’t seem to understand when to use a Div Block properly. I tend to use Section, Containers, Rows…Anyone have any good tutorials or videos on Div Block use or even a drawn out explanation of them would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Jibby

Hi @JibbyFlow, you can use a div block to make any shape in your design, from a block to a circle to anything else. Divs are also containers for anything so you can manipulate it as you want. Read this for more: What is a Div? – A Padded Cell

Arthur

Hello @JibbyFlow. :smiley:

I like to use Div Blocks to make cards, like the cards that I have on my Tom and Jerry website. It allows you to make creative sections of content.

One of the major ways that I use Div Blocks is to make popup sections. Instead of the user simply scrolling down the page, I keep it fluid by combining interactions and full page divs. This was the main focus of my Web 2.0 site and Tom and Jerry site.

Hello,

Here is a very simple & informative site. Reads like a little story book…

LearnLayout.com

Containers, rows, etc are just Divs with some preexisting formatting added. Use Divs to make your own columns that function differently than how the prebuilt column does. Use divs to create alternating Photo/Text rows that extend the full width of page. Really there is no right or wrong answer on when to use divs.