Webflow site loading slow (Shopify Buy Buttons)

Hi Everyone!

I have a subscription box client (who also sells items outside of that). We are using the Shopify buy buttons since they were already using Shopify as a backend.

As soon as I integrated everything, the site speed drastically decreased. It’s also a very hefty site with tons of images and videos.

What are the best ways to speed up the site?! I have a pre-loader that will act as an age-gate but it will only be on the hop home page.

Here is my read-only: https://preview.webflow.com/preview/wine-cult?utm_medium=preview_link&utm_source=designer&utm_content=wine-cult&preview=f489140219b8d9ee6097950d8b7c4eed&mode=preview

Thank you in advance!!

Hi @Victoria,

First of all it’s a beautiful site that you created.

To optimize for speed, use tools as Google Page Speed Insights, GTMetrix or Google Lighthouse from the browser to get an overall view of your site performance.

The first thing that really concerns me is the uncompressed images averaging 1 to 3.5MB. This is really unnecessary and can be solved by reducing/sizing the images to an acceptable size. On top of that, you should compress the images with a tool like Ezgif.

In addition you should look at cleaning up the class names and reusing them where possible, leave out unnecessary animations and remove fonts you don’t use.

I think if you have carried out the aforementioned you will notice a significant difference in your site’s overall speed and quality. :smiley:

Measure the improvement by checking the Lighthouse or GTmetrix stats.

Cheers and good luck!

Lucas

Thank you so much!!

I went in and compressed all the images to smaller than 400 KB and cleaned up class names. GTMetrix still says i’m at a C-D and Google Page Speed says I’m at 70-73 for homepage on desktop and a whopping 28on mobile :woozy_face:. The shop is my slwest page and really the only place I feel is visibly slow and that’s at a 32 on desktop.