Text over background image

Hi folks. I expect this is a really simple thing but I’ve been going round in circles for a while and can’t work it out.
I have set up a grid of tiles/cards using 2 3 column components. Some have image above heading and para, others have full cover image with header and text on top. For the life of me I can’t work out how to do the latter.
Currently I have the image as a background image of a div, but as soon as I add a header the tile shifts down the page about 20px.

How should I be doing this?

My next question will be how to add the icons in the bottom right of the tiles. More columns? Or float them?
Like I said I’m new to this, coming from a design background but excited to see how far I can take this!

screenshot of work in progress, and my sketch visual.

Many thanks

Here is my site Read-Only: https://preview.webflow.com/preview/alk-2?preview=f3532174b3bd0950e9306361e20c906b

Hey there, I think to fix your issue here’s

1 - Inside 2 Column - change Column Container Position from Auto to Relative
2 - Change Column Image Position to Absolute and check to Full
3 - Set negative margins from Column Image to 0

Now you can add stuff inside the Column Image div.

Sorry for not recording it, ( I am currently at work and have limited time ) - but hopefully this will give you the right direction.

As for next question.
You would need to wrap items inside Div’s.

I would suggest to look at webflows Flex tutorials and use them over the ROW/COL style.

Hopefully this helps.

1 Like

Hi,

1. Header Text: When adding it, you have a 20px style on the top, make that zero and image is fine.
  2. For Icons: Use font awesome for these instead of images, because they’re text and can be sized with css.
    (fontawesome.com) If you need help adding this, shoot me a message.

Remember, if using a background adding text over will not effect anything, so it’s a viable option if it’s a static image for design.