Text Hover on Flexbox & Wrapper Background Image

Hi guys,

I’m a designer new to using webflow. I just found out about it and I think it’s fantastic to designer who are not familiar with coding. I read the forum and blogs and I still cannot wrap my head around it.

I’m working on rebranding my portfolio and came across couple of problems:

1. The show text on hover using flexbox. Mine works but it seems like the area of hovering is only that wide block of text wrapper instead of the whole wrapper (main wrapper) which consists of background img.

2. I know that once you give class to something it means it applies to everything. But what if I need the same class to applies to all my div block but I need to change the image of every block to a different ones. (see how my 3 main wrapper have the same img but they are actually 3 different projects)

Here is the link of my website https://preview.webflow.com/preview/victoria-jung?preview=6648447f93afc2046f1924ea1337cfa8

Thank you for the help!

1 Like

Hi, welcome!

1. Try using the Interactions. With Interactions you can say, when I hover over THIS thing, change this OTHER thing. Opacity is one of the properties Interactions allow you to manipulate.

First. select the element you want to interact with. Maybe in this case, main wrapper. Open the Interactions menu thing.

Create a new interaction and select Hover as the Trigger. This means something will happen when you hover over this main wrapper.

Check “Affect different elements” and type in text wrapper - the thing you want to be affected when you hover over the main wrapper.

Then limit to nested elements. We only want this interaction to affect the main wrapper’s own text wrapper.

Add a step on Hover Over. Go down to opacity and slide it all the way to 100%. Hit Done.
Add a step on Hover Out. Go down to opacity and slide it down to 0

You’re good!

In order for the text wrappers to start out as opacity 0, select a text wrapper, and change it’s opacity to 0.