Linking mouse over state BG image to CMS

I am attempting to use the CMS image field to generate a mouse over state for the BG image using the dynamic style settings.

Is this possible?

If not, how can I use two image fields in the CMS to generate a none and hover state?

Cheers

Here is my public share link: https://preview.webflow.com/preview/shutterlab-creative?preview=f3fa576aa1e0ad07fd43ef98fe7d8204
(how to access public share link)

You can do this with interactions. Just have a hover state switch the CMS item.

Thanks! Figured there’d be something simple I was missing.

Thanks for your fast response. I’m working to attempt this now, but I think I’m missing a step. Here’s where I’m at:

1. Select link block
  2. add mouse hover interaction
  3. On Hover>Start an animation
  4. Which option do I select to alternate ‘Get BG Image from’ source?

I think I may be looking in the wrong place, but I’m brand new to the interface/workflow. When I select ‘opacity’ it seems to still limit the BG image to one CMS image field.

Do I need to do this with show/hide using multiple link blocks referencing different CMS fields?

Hey @mgarske, try this.

Set up two different elements each with the different bkgd img from the CMS. Then use interactions to reveal (with show/hide) or fade (with opacity) actions.

Hope that helps. Happy designing!

I’m still doing something wrong. Here’s the setup I have:

1. 2 link blocks in the collection item. Each with a different BG image.

2. 2 sets of hover state animations, in out for each link block class. (all set to work with class, 2 classes)

3. two sets of ‘hide/show’ and ‘opacity’ to bring each link block in and out of visibility and ‘flex’

1. The opacity transitions are all set to 0.4 duration ‘ease in out’

2. When I test the blocks just disappear on mouse over.