Javascript delay on page links

Hi!

I’m new to Webflow and are trying to figure out how to implement JavaScript to my page. I want to delay a page load for animation to finish and then load a sub page using this custom code

<script type="text/javascript">
function delay (URL) {
    setTimeout( function() { window.location = URL }, 5000 );
}
</script>

How in the world do I call my function?

See Redirect from an HTML page - Stack Overflow

Put it in the page header code field and change the URL and number of seconds.

yeah thats great for the page to auto redirect. What im looking for is to call a function redirecting the user to a sub page. In that function im putting the delay so that the animation can finish. Its sort of a out animation before moving on :slight_smile:

The problem here is that im not sure how to call the function using onClick or similar.

Anyone have a solution for this? Would love to do this! :slight_smile:

Oh I see. Then you will need to replace with this custom code:

<script>
$('.link-classname').click(function(e) {
  e.preventDefault();
  setTimeout(function(url) { window.location = url }, 5000, this.href);
});
</script>

Replace link-classname with the class of your link/button, and change 5000 to number of milliseconds.

4 Likes

Hey!
I am looking to do this too, and I really am a JS nuthead.

I added the code to the header. I modified the button-class-name… All is good.
Then I gave a button the same name class (In Webflows “Selector” input area, right?

But no delay seems to take place…
Any help would be loved and appreciated!! :smiley:

1 Like

Hi Sam,
I tried using your custom code.
The delay does work. However, the code seems to also freeze my transition/animation.
I’m currently using it with the 2.0 Interactions, so I’m not sure if that’s the issue.

1 Like

I’m experiencing the same issue… JS setTimeout delay works but the Interactions 2.0 mouse click transitions aren’t firing for some reason…