Interactive slide out navigation with thumbnails

Hi,

I’m only a couple of weeks into my transition from Muse to Webflow and I dove head into interactions. I’m a photographer building a portfolio site and I want to create a 100% width scrollable thumbnail navigation so that users can be viewing one body of work and jump to another without having to have another page load in between. I need some guidance on my approach.

I hijacked one button (called “works”) in the nav widget to serve as the trigger for the slide out div. It works but there are a couple of deal breaking issues. First, if the trigger for the slide out div is on one page (I want it on all pages) then the nav button trigger only affects a single instance of the slide out div (on the first page on which I created the interaction). Second, even if I set the Z level higher than the content on the page, the slide out div appears vertically higher or lower on the page than the content depending on the order in which they are in the navigator. I’m sure the latter is a light newbie issue but the former probably means I’m at a dead end.

Here’s my read only link:
https://preview.webflow.com/preview/charlescohenart?preview=835cfa0dfc3e24dff2f564dab3d21d09

Once you turn on preview mode, the three thumbnails on the page are an example of one row of a body of work to which a user would navigate from a thumbnail. The “works” button triggers the slide out navigation.

Your help is much appreciated.

Thanks!

Here is my site Read-Only: https://preview.webflow.com/preview/charlescohenart?preview=835cfa0dfc3e24dff2f564dab3d21d09
(how to share your site Read-Only link)

Hi @cacnyc108 rather than building a custom slider, I would recommend utilizing a Lightbox element instead for your gallery so that you can easily link the gallery with other lightboxes on the same page: Lightbox | Webflow University