How to personalize search element

Hi everyone,

I’m new to Webflow and I’m having a little trouble with the search element: I’d like to set up a search mode like in this website (top right corner), which means that I want only the pictogram to appear, and that when I click on it, the menu disappears.
I hope to be clear enough in my explanations.
Thanks in advance!

Howdy @JadeH and welcome to the community! :wave:

This is fairly straightforward to accomplish this with Interactions — basically clicking your icon would trigger an interaction that hides your menu and shows the search bar (with some transforms/fades for visual flair).

Thankfully Webflow offers some great content around learning platform in the Webflow University, so if you haven’t already I’d suggest running through the Interactions & Animations course:

They also have tons of articles on the specific aspects of interactions here that may be more desirable if you don’t want to run through the whole course above.

If you run into issues after taking a peek at the links above, don’t hesitate to reach out with your read-only link and I’d be happy to help answer any questions :+1:

1 Like

Hey @mikeyevin !

Thank you so much for your help, I was looking for this EXACT course. However, I feel like I’m doing something wrong, even after 2 hours of work I can’t find the problem.
Please find my read only link below. I know my site is very poorly done, I am trying to do my best but this is all new to me. I welcome any comments and/or suggestions for improvement!
Thanks again for your feedback! :smiling_face:

Jade’s website

After taking a quick peek, the first issue I’m noticing is that you’ve got both of your show/hide animations using initial states for elements. Try keeping these to limited to the first trigger since the result of that will be to showing/hiding elements that are set as initial states of the second.