How to create a drop down search box

I’m trying to create a search bar at the top of my site. So when someone clicks on the search icon, a window drops down or appears over the nav bar. Is this even possible? I’m still very new to webflow.

https://preview.webflow.com/preview/mycreativepixel-site?utm_medium=preview_link&utm_source=designer&utm_content=mycreativepixel-site&preview=e0c17831c3a566972dc7505cc765aec1&mode=preview

Here is my public share link: LINK
(how to access public share link)

Hello @creativeclicks,

what you are trying to accomplish is very possible on Webflow. There is a search box already built in Webflow you can find it under components, it is the search element.
57%20PM
Once you place this search element on your navabar you can animate to show or hide anytime your users click on your search icon. I hope this helps, let me know if you have any questions.

I see the search bar feature. I’m just not sure how to get it to animate. Can you guide me in the right direction?

@creativeclicks, ok so what you need to do is you have to place the search bar and place it and style it how ever you want. Once it looks like you want and is placed where you want you select Display: None. After that, you select you search icon, go to interactions, element trigger, on first click, create a new animation, change target to search bar, select hide/show, select block or flex, and that will make the search bar to show. Then, you create the on second click animation, and select the search bar to go back to display:none. I hope this helps, let me know if you any questions.

OH ok. Thank you. I will give that a try and report back on how it goes.

For some reason, when I target the search bar, it looses the tigger and opts out of the whole thing. For some reason, I struggle with interactions. LOL

Hello @creativeclicks,