How do I use Z-Indexing

Hello, I am a newbie to Webflow so please bear with me! I have created a section and added a Google map, I would like to place an image on top of the map. I understand that to do this I need to change the z-index which effectively ‘layers’ the elements (I think!), can anyone tell me in simple (very) steps how I can do this? Thank you in advance.

It does, you think well.

That’s an excellent question, because Z-index does provoke a lot of frustration.

Grand rules : some aren’t official but come from experience

• z-index will only work on an element whose position property has been explicitly set to absolute, fixed, or relative
  • don’t put too much z-index properties, wait for when you need them, or it will be hard to debug
  • try to put your z-indexes on the uppest elements in the hierarchy, and at the same level if possible. For example on sections below the body.
  • try to think your indexes in advance and avoid using enormous numbers (zindex 10000) ← no reason for that except it personnally drives me crazy :wink:
  • if you put a “pair” of z-index to be sure that two elements behave the way you want, try to give those z-index to elements at the same level. Example below

Instead of:

body
– section 1 (zindex 10)
– section 2
– – menu (zindex 20)

… try to do (if you can and if it does the result you want)

body
– section 1 (zindex 10)
– section 2 (zindex 20)
– – menu

Read this page : http://www.w3schools.com/cssref/pr_pos_z-index.asp

And this in-depth article, you’ll learn a lot : The Z-Index CSS Property: A Comprehensive Look — Smashing Magazine

Oh, and on Webflow, if you don’t see the zindex box anymore, click again on position:Relative button, sometimes it hides for a reason I ignore.

Thank you Vincent, I’ll give it a go!