A little VH / Flexbox help needed

Hello,

So I am currently trying out Webflow and learning about Flexbox at the same time. To help me do this, I am trying to deconstruct and recreate this page: http://www.thisalso.com/projects/google-identity

I feel like I have made some decent progress and I really enjoy Webflow’s interface. However, I am having some difficultly in getting my page to behave like the ThisAlso.com page, especially on mobile. I have the top section(logo and type) in divs with a flex parent that is set to 90vh. This should allow for a small portion of the cat images to “peek up” from the bottom of the page on all breakpoints. Although, we I view the link on my phone or a device emulator, the page scrolls instead of scaling to the 90VH.

Again, I am fairly new to this (a designer not a coder), so I am trying my best through the tutorials and deconstruction to understand how this all works. If someone could take a look at my public link and possibly give me some tips on how I can get this to work correctly, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

K.

Here is my public share link: LINK
(how to access public share link)

The reason you get scroll on your mobile device – on iOS at least, not sure about Android – is because when setting a height with VH, it doesn’t account for the browser chrome (top bar, address field). Therefore, in your case, your top section of 90vh is getting “pushed” down by the height of the browser chrome.

Thanks for the reply. I guessed as much, but I am trying to figure out how this page does it: thisalso.com is coming soon

When I look at that on my IOS phone it loads perfectly, with a small amount of the content “peeking”. It’s been driving me nuts trying to figure it out. Like I said, I am no developer, so I am limited in my solutions / ideas.

Looking through their code, they’re using this line:

min-height: calc(100vh - 60px)