Linking and DISPLAYING next and previous post content?

Hi there, I’ve been following @hammerhouse’s guide on getting ‘previous’ and ‘next’ buttons to appear at the end of a post page, it works great! However, I’m looking to expand it to include the post title, author and subject of the post too but I’m struggling to get it to work.

Could anybody look at my test link and see where I am going wrong?
http://prev-next.webflow.io/post/7-ways-to-improve-website-usability-and-accessibility

The ‘author’ and ‘subject’ fields all showing on the page but I’m having trouble grabbing them and putting them into the next and previous sections.

Many thanks

Hello @cbg

In that guide there’s a link to another post that includes titles:

Let me know if that helps

Hi Aaron – Yes, I’ve also seen that post and was able to get the titles working too. Just unable to get anything other than the titles to show like the ‘author’ and ‘subject’ fields in my collection. Any ideas? Thanks.

I’m no coder but I’m pretty sure you can call more attributes from a CMS item in that custom code in the lines:

var next_title = $('#post_list .w--current').parent().next().find('a').text();
var previous_title = $('#post_list .w--current').parent().prev().find('a').text();

to get the author and subject. Can you share your read only link please?

Unfortunately I’m no coder either, ha! I should have mentioned, I did try and reverse engineer this to work with the author and subject but it’s not working, here’s my read only link.
https://preview.webflow.com/preview/prev-next?utm_source=prev-next&preview=aa25cdd07ed0aca8cf28f926db7611b4

I don’t quite understand where it’s pulling ‘next_title’ from either, since the post title is actually called ‘name’ in the CMS.

He is giving you an example of JQuery code. If you understand javascript, then you would be set. There is not a native widget for what you seek.