Hyphenation via CSS

Hi there,

I am a German Designer, and unfortunately the German language has very long words, which requires hyphenation, at best automatically.

After research here in the forum I found this CSS snippet which has to be pasted in the Custom Code section for the head and set the language to “de”:

<style>
.h1
 {
  word-break: break-word;
  -webkit-hyphens: auto;
  -moz-hyphens: auto;
  -ms-hyphens: auto;
  -o-hyphens: auto;
  hyphens: auto;
}

</style>

I tried it with h1, but it does not work. In my sample website you will see a word “Musterabteilungsleiter”, which should be splitted. But it doesn’t, either in the Designer or in the published site.

Who can help? Many many thanks from a frantic German designer…

Here is my site Read-Only: https://preview.webflow.com/preview/muster-website?utm_medium=preview_link&utm_source=dashboard&utm_content=muster-website&preview=f192b62f555c66b6dad67f804bd1e750&mode=preview

Live site: http://muster-website.webflow.io/

It worked now. But the hyphenation of the language is beeing ignored and there are no hyphens. Any solution? :pleading_face:

1 Like

I have the same problem. Do you have a solution for this now?

I´ve got the same problem… no solution right now…

I am Dutch and ran into the same problem with the word: “Arbeidsmarktcommunicatie”.

The CSS solution works fine for me!
I have placed the script (see below) in the custom code in the section for the entire site.
It may depend on which browser you see it in. I mainly run Chrome.
And I have set the language code to “nl”.

Maybe it will help you, I hope so.

h1 { word-break: break-word; -webkit-hyphens: auto; -moz-hyphens: auto; -ms-hyphens: auto; -o-hyphens: auto; hyphens: auto;}

The website I used this CSS:

Hi,

You can use soft hyphens to suggest word breaks. See a demonstration below: