How to Ioad JSON file to run script

Hi all,

I’m excited to be using Webflow to build a new careers portal for my company.

My end goal: Pull Jobvite data (JSON file) and display on a webflow page.

Current integration: Wordpress website with PHP file to write how Jobvite data is displayed.

I am not very technical and need a better understanding of how to communicate what needs to be done to the technical members of my team.

I am told that we can place the a JSON loading script in the Custom Code section.

A) How do I load the JSON file in the custom code section?
B) Where do I place or write a new PHP file to display the Jobvite data?

Thank you for your help!!
Dan

Hi @dan_luebke, while it is possible to do some loading of JSON data to your site with the right conditions, using custom code, we do not support running of any PHP scripts from Webflow servers.

If you want to trigger a PHP script, you would need your own external server running PHP to store those PHP scripts.

One solution might be to create a webserver with PHP, then set that server up as a sub-domain of your Custom Domain in Webflow, and then call the PHP script from a form in Webflow and POST the input data to the PHP script on your server, and have your PHP script write out a json file to some directory on your server, then load that json file using javascript in Webflow. That is just one direction you might check out… Others on the forum may have some advice also… Cheers !

Hi @cyberdave - my mistake, I need to clarify. We do not need to re-write our script in PHP. We should be able to work with the data in JQuery. First, however, I need to succeed in loading the JSON file. Do you have a recommended way for doing this?

Best,
Dan

Hi, @dan_luebke, Thanks for clarifying, yes that makes a big difference. Can you tell me, where is this JSON file that will be loaded, will be stored? Is it the file url a static url, or is the JSON output from JobVite generated as part of a function in their API ?