Can I create a button that once pressed will change the settings of a div class?

Hi,

I am new here. Please excuse me if I don’t make this clear, I am not good at coding.

Let’s say I create a div block, I give it a name like “div class” and I set a new background colour for it like blue. Then I create a button somewhere on the page and I want that button, once pressed, to change the settings from the “div class” in this case to change the background colour from blue to green. Is that possible? I hope you will understand what I want to do. Feel free to ask me if you have any questions. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you!

3 Likes

Hi, at the moment, you cannot trigger css color changes to another element using an interaction, however you can use some code like this in the custom code section:

<script>

$(document).ready(function() {
  $("#button").click(function() {
       $("#target").css("background-color", "red");
    });
  });

</script>

Where #button is the unique ID of the button, and when your button that gets clicked, the element with #target ID is the element you want to change it’s css properties.

I hope this helps !

3 Likes

I’m implementing this technique (except it’s not on a button it’s on a div with an ID) and I would like to turn off the background-color on the second click. How would I write that code?

changing red to none should do the trick on the fill color. The click function should work in either case the #button name is an arbitrary element ID and I think it should be able to be applied to any element you would want to add the click functionality to.

Hi @flipflop335,

Thanks for the update. Could you please send me the id of the button, the id of the target div that will be having the background color, and the what color is the panel when it is not set to off? Cheers, Dave

Hi cyberdave,

Here is my website share link, https://preview.webflow.com/preview/feliciavanevery?preview=9ccd5be6827092c61a8591ef947e6646.