Webflow Designer and Breakpoints need some serious rethinking

Hi all.

I just wanted to make a post regarding the breakpoints and general designer layout when it comes to implementing responsiveness, in the hopes that it will be another flag on this issue for the dev team to see.

I don’t need help with a specific problem but I’m interested to hear anybody’s input on this topic. Just for context, I’m a professional designer and website builder so I know my way around CSS, etc. And know that my code is solid. This post is more just a general issue raising. I should say that I love Webflow and prefer it over WordPress etc. Because of the freedom it gives me as the developer, so hopefully, this post doesn’t come off as a rant. I want to help make this product better!

Now to the issue…

The designer simply doesn’t match the reality of a live site, and neither does the preview. This problem exists across most of the breakpoints available but is particularly egregious on Tablet and Mobile breakpoints. I have built multiple sites now using Webflow and not once have I found the designer layout actually matches the reality of a live site. It is obviously very frustrating to have to repeatedly go through and tweak things again and again to the point of disfiguring your designer layout in order for the live site to look right. If I have to do that, what’s the point in the designer layout in the first place?!

The second thing is breakpoints in general. The baseline breakpoint is supposed to be the bedrock of the whole system allowing you easily scale up and down from there. But