Understanding Grid Layout Usage Scenarios

Hi. I’m new to Webflow and this forum.

I’m trying to learn/build by dissecting some Webflow templates.

Currently I am analysing Prospero Ecommerce UI Kit and in many instances I found some page sections built with Grid Display Layout without anything in there actually being aligned to the grid.

Overall it looks like an unnecessarily messy approach to me, but since these templates are built by Webflow team - and not some amateurs - there must be a catch somewhere.

Can anyone please clarify why using grid to achieve this kind of look, and not something neater, like Flex box for example? Wouldn’t there be a performance benefit in using a simpler tool for such a simple effect?

Here’s a link and a screenshot:

Prospero UI Kit

In this screenshot you can see that neither the text, nor the button, nor the image is aligned to the grid. Why grid then?

Thank you
Easy

Here is my site Read-Only: LINK
(how to share your site Read-Only link)

hi @easyaskovic how did you came up with idea about differences in performance issue between CSS Grid and Flex. Can you point to some proven personal experience and examples you came across?

If it looks to you that using CSS Grid is overkill, nothing will stop you to use Flex if you are convinced that it will be for you better solution. There is always many ways how to achieve identical result. BTW you have probably missed that this Hero section is using combination of CSS Grid and Flex together.

Anyway, once you will learn and understand how to use CSS Grid you will find answers to all your questions. :wink:

Hi @Stan . Thanks for your answer. I admit that I don’t have any experience with Webflow performance issues. That was a random guess so let’s forget about that.