Removing the .HTML when exporting

Hi!

I’ve got no experience at all when it comes to building websites (thats why i chose webflow) so this might seem like a stupid question.

I’ve been trying to get rid of the .html behind my website link (Example Domain).
After trying everything out others said on this forum i still have the .html behind it.

So if anyone could be so kind to help me with this!
Also is it possible it could be because the external server i use is different then others?

Here is the link to my website and how i’ve uploaded it in filezilla.

www.montforum.nl

Thanks in advance!

Chris

Here is my .htaccess for a self hosted site to remove .html from the URLs:

#Apache Rewrite Rules
<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
Options +FollowSymLinks
RewriteEngine On
RewriteBase /    
#domain-name.com/page will display the contents of domain-name.com/page.html
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME}.html -f
RewriteRule ^(.+)$ $1.html [L,QSA]

#301 from domain-name.com/page.html to domain-name.com/page
RewriteCond %{THE_REQUEST} ^[A-Z]{3,9}\ /.*\.html\ HTTP/
RewriteRule ^(.*)\.html$ /$1 [R=301,L]

#301 from folders (this allows for changing folders to paths
#EXAMPLE
#RedirectMatch 301 ^/projects/index.html /our-work.html

# End of Apache Rewrite Rules
</IfModule>

Hope it helps some people :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Thanks for your reply!

Sadly it didnt do anything for me.
Is there anything in that code i have to change? For instance #domain-name.com to #montforum.nl ?
And if that doesn’t work either should I just buy another hosting service, or is there anything else i could try?

Thanks,

You shouldn’t have to… it should work

Hi @chris_zijlstra, do you happen to know for sure that the external server you are running is a linux/apache server or a Windows server?