Multilingual site - best solution?

Hi there, I want to make my website available in both English and Dutch. I was wondering, what is the best solution SEO-wize, either duplicating the whole site and hosting it under a whole other url (for instance www.example.com and www.example.nl) which would create quite some extra costs ofcourse, or duplicate the pages within the same website and create a different language for each (for instance www.example.com/home and www.example.com/nl-home). I’m really hoping you could answer this as I’m very new to SEO.

Jorik

For the sake of SEO I’ve been using your plan B and duping the pages and joining the content under a flag link in the nav bar.

BUT with the introduction to dynamic content, I was really hoping we would get multilingual support.

3 Likes

Hi steelmountain,
I’m a Japanese and new to Web Design so to Webflow CMS.
Is it easy to make/install multilingual Switch in to the nab bar?

I’ve used Localize.js on Squarespace websites before, but I’ve not had a multilingual project on Webflow yet. It is a javascript solution that replaces the copy with a translated version you define. It’s pretty sweet. Here’s the documentation for webflow: How to easily translate Webflow websites - Localize Integration Tutorial

I’ve never used the service on Webflow, but can verify everything works great on Squarespace. I don’t see why it wouldn’t work with Webflow.

1 Like

On their site they say that for best SEO each language should have their own unique url like website.com/en and website.com/nl. Don’t know how to solve this in Webflow using localize. Ideas are welcome :grinning:

3 Likes

Hi,

Just duplicate the page and create a switcher in the navbar, a permanent div on the edge or any way you can think of to show and easy link to the other set of pages.