Web form text field autocomplete based on collection list or else (Zapier, spreadsheet, ...)

Hi there!

I’m new to Webflow and am amazed at how powerful it is. I however would need to customize it a little bit in order to achieve my desired web form behavior. The idea is that I want one of the fields of my web form to be autocompleting based on data that I put somewhere (either in zapier, or I can directly import it in Webflow. In any case, this is static data). This would behave the same way as a field e.g. in the backend of Drupal. You have a list, let’s say of three names: “John Doe, John Smith and Donald Spencer”. When filling in the text field with “Jo…” it would suggest the two first names and exclude the third one, etc. You get the idea.

More practically, I want to achieve something similar to this: How to Create Autocomplete Dropdowns With Datalist | Treehouse Blog
Zapier also is featuring this use case, but I’m absolutely not confident on how to implement it on a Webflow form: Zapier Platform UI Documentation

Question now is, how would you proceed to get that sorted and working in Webflow?

Many thanks for your help guys.

Benjamin

Edit: other reference, seems to be possible using jQuery and Collection lists (see third comment). I don’t have the skills though. Populate form elements with CMS collection data | Webflow Wishlist

2 Likes

Did you ever find a solution to this?

In Benjamin’s example, in which he specified static data as the source, it should be trivial.

1. Create the form and the input element in the Webflow designer

2. Create the static datalist content in an HTML Embed, e.g.

<datalist id="languages">
  <option value="HTML">
  <option value="CSS">
  <option value="JavaScript">
  <option value="Java">
  <option value="Ruby">
  <option value="PHP">
  <option value="Go">
  <option value="Erlang">
  <option value="Python">
  <option value="C">
  <option value="C#">
  <option value="C++">
</datalist>