How to populate a fied in form based on data from collection item

Hi guys,

I looked into the forum but I believe it’s Jquery related but I couldn’t find a suitable solution.

I’m building a website where you can rate cities. Each cities page have a button that lead to a form page to rate it.

I would like for the form to populate with the city name (from the previous page). It has to have the exact same name because when the form is submited, the data imputed go in a CMS collection (via Zapier) and has to match the right city.

Thanks a lot,

Nick

Hey @Nick101, I would use localStorage() for this. Code will look something like this.

$(window).on('load', function(){
  localStorage.setItem('city', $('.city-name').val())
})

and on the form page.

$(window).on('load', function(){
  $('.input#cityname').val(localStorage.getItem('city'))
})

I wrote that on the fly, if there are any errors let me know :slight_smile:

Hi @dennyhartanto,

Thanks for the reply !

I’m not an expert in coding :sweat_smile: Where do I need to put these pieces of code specifically?

For specific page, there is a Custom Code section in Page settings, scroll down.

For all pages, in site settings there is a custom code tab.

Found it. Which variable I need to change I your code to adapt for my structure?

Do you mind sharing your read-only link so that I can help with it more effectively?

@dennyhartanto Had the same question as Nick101 above, not sure which variables to change to make it work on my page. I can kind of follow but get lost with the ‘.____’ values.

I’m trying to collect an address on landing page and then use it to populate address field on the next page the CTA clicks through to. If it helps the text input field (on both pages) is “address”

Is the way I’ve updated below correct? Thanks in advance!

Copy the following snippet into initial capture page code:

$(window).on(‘load’, function(){
localStorage.setItem(‘streetaddress’, $(‘.address’).val())
})