Hover over video to start and to stop

I trying to get my video to start and to stop when you hover over the background video. I did find one thread about how to accomplish this but it doesn’t seem to work for my site. I’m a complete novice at java script, but i did place the suggested code in the page custom code area and changed the video source name but it’s not working. Please advise on what I’m doing wrong.

Thank you.

the Link is https://preview.webflow.com/preview/teds-hover-over-play?preview=cde1b65ff09f73be814e0e250d8213f0

P.S. Is there a way to apply this stop/play to video linked to my vimeo account?

Hi @ted,

Can you try the following :

<script>
var figure = $(".vid1").hover( hideVideo, hoverVideo );
function hoverVideo(e) { $('video', this).get(0).play(); }
function hideVideo(e) { $('video', this).get(0).pause(); }
</script>

Hope this helps

Sorry @ted, didn’t see your post scriptum.

You can put a div (initially display : none) with a button to your vimeo account inside your background video element. Then create an interaction when you hover over your video element display your div with the button inside and when you hover out display none.

Hope this helps

Hi Blaise, thanks for the response. I tried the script and the result was if you hover over the clip it stopped playing rather than start to play. I must apologize in advance that I am out of my depth in these areas. If you have any other insight to how to change this to play on hover I’d really appreciate it.

Thanks

Hi @ted

Try to switch hoverVideo, hideVideo, like this :

<script>
var figure = $(".vid1").hover( hoverVideo, hideVideo);
function hoverVideo(e) { $('video', this).get(0).play(); }
function hideVideo(e) { $('video', this).get(0).pause(); }
</script>
2 Likes