Have 16:9 TV as a device view

I’m working on a site rework for a startup. Very important to them is their site demo to prospective B to B clients. So, the “presentation monitor” or TV, basically, is quite important to them.

I’m new to Webflow, but am super impressed so far. However, full-screen on a 16:9 display, the 960 wide container leaves a lot of extra space on the sides that could be designed to be used quite nicely. For example, on the current landing page i’m working on, there’s a 2x2 “features” section - 2 rows, 2 columns of an image with feature title and description. On desktop, it works fine in that layout - however, for a wide 16:9 display, it would look great to have 1 row of 4 columns.

Is there some way to do this now? Being new, maybe there is. But, if not, It might be nice to have a “TV” as an option as a device view.

edit: just as a footnote, was testing my published webflow site with safari’s developer “responsive design mode” – noticed they have “1920x1080” as one of their preview sizes. using that, i’d definitely like to use all that extra space. it looked more significant than i imagined. probably why apple includes that as a test resolution :wink:

2 Likes

I usually don’t use the default Containers, because their max width is pretty old-fashioned by today’s standards :slight_smile:

Instead, I create a div, give it a class ‘Container’ and a max width of around 1100-1200px and use it instead of the default Webflow containers.

Good luck!

3 Likes

It’s an interesting Idea,

I think the trouble is that Webflow is a visual designer and because of that the design has to fit on the screen you are designing on.

So if there is a larger media query but you are designing on a laptop, how does that get represented visually?

It’s an interesting design problem to say the least.

A standard full Hd computer screen is 16:9. Almost every laptop has 16:9 screen.

Ratio:
16:9 = 1,777777777777778

Standard HD Resolutions:
1920:1080 = 1,777777777777778