Streaming live at 10am (PST)

Disable Design Control Request Feature

Hopefully the title makes sense. It seems like at some point in the last week or two, a new feature was added, that allows only one instance of designer to be open, with design control.

A typical workflow for me is to have a project open in two separate windows, for instance Project X open on one computer display, then a second instance of Project X open, in another browser window, on computer display 2. Prior to the recent change, I could have both instances open, copy from one instance to the other, without issues.

Now, when I do the same, the active window has design control, the inactive window has view control. When I switch to the opposite window/instance, I have to select ‘design here’. I then have to click on design here, and scroll back down through elements to select an element I want to copy. Then, when I go back to the other instance I have to request design control there, and scroll back through the elements to select where I want to paste.

This really slows down the workflow. Additionally, every now and then it causes the web flow project to think the pasted element(s) are being copied from a different project, so webflow renames the classes. I have to undo and repeat the process.

It is a feature that certainly helps avoid some potential problems, when you start working on a project that hasn’t been updated in the current window. But, for the informed webflow user, used to a multi-window workflow, this is nearly a deal breaker. It has severely slowed me down in the past week.

I’m hoping there is an off button for this feature.

Can anyone tell me if and how I can turn this new feature off?

2 Likes

Was thinking about the exact same thing last week. Your post is spot on! I’ve also experienced workflow disruptions recently due to this. It’s kinda funny how I have to request design control from myself! :joy:

I’m also curious to know how to disable this feature.
Thank you in advance. :raised_hands:

I also second this! It was so much better without it for me, I understand it’s cool for teams, but I am working on my own and totally don’t need it!!

I need a solution for this. It’s been months now working like this. It’s annoying… How can we make this request a priority? :sweat_smile: