Custom code - Not on desktop

Hi all,

Need help again…
I’m NOT a coder but managed to get this piece of code to work on a collection list.

.ci-index:first-child .index-wrapper{
margin-left: 50px;
}
.ci-index:last-child .index-wrapper{
margin-right: 50px;
}

However, I ONLY want this to happen in iPad and mobile mode.
How do I disable it on desktop?
What code can I add?

Thanks for your help…

To address responsivity, we use media queries to define breakpoints. Webflow has breakpoints already set for you, so it’s just a matter of adding the correct one before your code.

For instance:

@media (max-width: 991px) {
.ci-index:first-child .index-wrapper {margin-left: 50px}
.ci-index:last-child .index-wrapper {margin-right: 50px}
}

So those CSS rules will only apply when the viewport has a width of less than 991px. (I fixed your code, don’t use the ; character when you only have 1 property in your CSS rule.)

1 Like

Thanks Vincent for the swift reply.

However, I just realised I need more help with the same code.

What if I need different margins for either breakpoints (ipad and the 2 mobile breakpoints)?
Do I need to add the same code 4 times with different max. widths and margins for each breakpoint?

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

Yes, tout à fait. Here’s the declarations for tablets, phone landscape and phone portrait as Webflow defines them:

@media (max-width: 991px) {
.ci-index:first-child .index-wrapper {margin-left: 50px}
.ci-index:last-child .index-wrapper {margin-right: 50px}
}

@media (max-width: 767px) {
.ci-index:first-child .index-wrapper {margin-left: 30px}
.ci-index:last-child .index-wrapper {margin-right: 30px}
}

@media (max-width: 479px) {
.ci-index:first-child .index-wrapper {margin-left: 20px}
.ci-index:last-child .index-wrapper {margin-right: 20px}
}