Client customisable layouts

Hi. I’m yet to create my first WF project so I’m still a total newbie, so forgive me if this question is a bit dumb.

I’m an semi-experienced Wordpress dev, usually building sites with ACF Pro which enables me to hand over sites where the client can create custom page layouts in the editor using ACF flexible layout blocks that are reorder-able.

I’ve got a client who wants a site and is keen to try something other than WP, so I though this could be a good opportunity to try WF. However, the client will need to be able to customise each page as it’s a portfolio site and she doesn’t want each project to look the same.

So, finally, my question is am I able to create a site like this where the client can create a new project page and include whatever they need in whatever order they choose? I’ve tried and tried to find an answer about this but all I seem to be able to find is tutorial videos on how to create templates in the designer.

Please let me know if any of the above isn’t clear.

Thanks

No, and yes.

Webflow doesn’t have a “client-mode designer” where certain simplistic layout options are available, while hardcore styling and scripting are locked down safely.

However there are two approaches you can take.

1. Give them FULL design access. Setup their site in a Workspace that they own, and pay for, and then invite yourself as a collaborator. You’ll both have full designer access [ one at a time ], and they can do anything they want. It’s a steep learning curve, and there is huge potential for damage, but you always have Webflow’s auto-backup system to fall back on.

2. Prepare a range of pre-designed Project layouts that you create, and let them choose which they want to use for each Project they add.

Let’s talk about #2, it’s a technique I use often.