Can I create e-commerce websites without CMS dynamic content?

Hi. I am a Webflow beginner and planning to build some e-commerce websites for my portfolio only. Obviously I don’t want to pay for their hosting because they will be only for portfolio showcase, so I found out already that I can host them outside of webflow for free, but the thing is it’s turns out that it’s not possible to host websites with CMS data outside of webflow. So for that reason I want to build e commerce website manually, without dynamic CMS content. So I have a few questions regarding this:

1. Is it possible that I fill the product page manually and everything will still work as if it was e commerce site? or some functions will be disabled?

2. Despite this will be a portfolio website, I will probably still want to add a cart and payment options and connect it to Stripe or Paypal just to test how it works, because I want to learn the process, so will I be able to add a cart and payment options, connect it to Stripe? Process payment to my own card just to test how it works?

3. If some functions will be disabled its still OK, since my main goal is to just showcase e-commerce example of my work to my potential client without paying for a hosting, for the site that will not be active.

Thank you for your reply!

When you export a site, all Webflow-hosted features need to be re-engineered with solutions you can host externally. That includes the CMS, form submission handling, Ecommerce, Logic, Memberships, etc.

You can create a pretend site for portfolio purposes but it wouldn’t actually work, e.g. shopping cart, purchase, etc.

If you’re trying to build something functional but with lower-cost hosting options, look at Foxycart or Paypal Lite’s buy now buttons ( $9 usd/mo ).

2 Likes