API and Webhooks learning resources. Memberships in LATAM

Does anybody has experience of getting membership subscriptions to work without Stripe/PayPal. I’m sure API and Webhooks hold the answers but my knowledge is limited and I haven’t found much in terms of learning resources.

Working in Argentina make using these payment processors (Stripe/PayPal) as good as impossible. Foxy.io almost was a solutions but their setup can’t handle the Mercado Pago credit card subscriptions payments API (although they did say they might look into it).

There are some local solutions like Mobbex/Fresa (here), but their documents are a little out of reach for me, I have some years of Webflow experience but it’s limited, I didn’t do much with API and Webhooks so far and don’t know where to head to start learning.

I have not actually looked to see, but a lot of payment and subscription systems have their own baked-in payment processor as well. For example, Shopify has Shopify Payments, which is the default if you don’t choose and setup a different payment processor.

I’d expect membership systems to be similar. Check Memberstack and Webflow Memberships BETA to see if they have a solution that works for you.

Hi Mike thanks for the reply. Exactly as you say, a lot of payment and subscription systems have their own baked-in payment processor, and from what I have seen so far it is usually Stripe and/or USD-centric. What’s more, most of the wishlists for most of the products you could think of are wishing for Mercadopago support, Mercadopago has an API that ‘should’ work… but nobody integrates it.

This is 100% doable.

I’ve been showing people for years how to do this through my tutorials & screencasts.

What I’ve found is most membership sites only support what you’ve just mentioned for paid memberships, but they (typically) also have a free membership option.

That’s where it get’s interesting for your situation.